How to change time settings in Linux Mint 13

I’ll never forget looking at the time.  Let me tell you the story.  I had just installed Linux Mint 13 onto a Dell SX280 desktop PC and noticed that the time settings were in military time.  I didn’t like that at all.  So I clicked on the icon and under Date and Time Settings couldn’t find an option to change it to another format.

This I found to be strange as I had no problem changing the time in Ubuntu before so this was a new one on me.  So, I decided to google it.  After several sites that were no help I was able to make the adjustment I wanted.

It was so easy!!!!

Thanks to Jonquil for this site.

And all was well, in fact today when I set my bottom panel back to default I had to make the adjustment again. Was done in the blink of an eye.

 

 

About anthonyvenable110

As you can see I love working with various Linux Operating Systems, as well as programs that are Open-Source in nature. Speaking of nature, I love long walks where there is plenty of it.
This entry was posted in computers, education, Fun, Life, Linux, Linux Mint, Ubuntu, Uncategorized, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to change time settings in Linux Mint 13

  1. truthspew says:

    Ah, that’s what one gets for wanting GUI’s for everything. /etc/ is your friend.

  2. Glad I was able to help. :)

    P.S. Even in etc he would have had to know that the letter “l” changes the time to 12 hour format, truthspew.

  3. Thanks for the comments. But to be honest, I don’t k ow how to use etc to do what I want just yet.

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

