Originally posted on VentureBeat:

siliconvalley

This is a guest post by entrepreneur Roman Stanek.

I love Silicon Valley. I love the venture and social infrastructure that nurtures startups. I love its drama as companies create innovative products, become attractive acquisition targets, and then decide whether to sell or go it alone. But most of all, I’m fascinated by Silicon Valley’s unique dynamics that produce a constant stream of innovation — which my good friend John Seely Brown defines as “invention implemented.”

That implementation of innovation is key because it’s what makes Silicon Valley special. It’s the fuel that creates value, drives M&A, and builds companies. It’s also the fuel that creates whole new markets and, by extension, jobs.

Honest.

I realize Silicon Valley might not exactly appear like a jobs-making machine. Even last year’s 3.6 percent employment growth rate, returning the area to job levels last seen in the dot-com era, seems sluggish to the…

View original 646 more words

