Linux Mint 12 is awesome!

I really looked forward to this release as I was eagerly anticipating what direction Linux Mint was going to go especially once Ubuntu went ahead with its implementation of the Unity interface. I figured it was only a matter of time before the Mint team would decide to do something different from the past.

That decision would become even more important due to the growing fan base that Linux Mint has built up over time. A fan base that has actually in some peoples opinions eclipsed that of Ubuntu. Linux Mint has  had had about two and a half times  the page hits of Ubuntu and that has been true for the last three months.

I personally started using Linux Mint not long after I came across Ubuntu back in 2010. What impressed me about it the most was that it already included codecs which would allow me to play DVD’s and MP3’s etc.  Right out of the box this was something it had over Ubuntu(even though its not like it was hard to get these things set up there). I also liked the color scheme it is very nice indeed.!

I love the fact that it includes various media players that are absent from an installation of Ubuntu with you adding them.

Recently a new version of Linux Mint has been made available, it is nicknamed Lisa and it comes with several changes. One of those changes would be the departure from the traditional Gnome 2 interfaces. In fact there would be several available such as Cinnamon, Gnome 3 and Mate. I really liked Gnome 2 so I would like to stay at least as close to it as I can get at least until I can get used to 3.  In the meantime Cinnamon seems to have the most promise. For a comparison look below.

Cinnamon is #1

Review image

#2 is the default Gnome 3 (Complete with the Mint Gnome Shell Extensions)

#3 Last and not least is Mate

As you can see there are several choices which each can be manipulated for more control and lets you pick what you want, when you want. So by all means have fun and enjoy to wonder that is Linux Mint 12 also known as (Lisa)

Have a minty day!

For more information check out this site. and HERE as well.

http://www.linuxmint.com

http://www.distrowatch.com

16 thoughts on “Linux Mint 12 is awesome!

  1. oyabunbaba

    Wow, nice long article, hope more ppl will use Linux, coz IMHO it’s easier to use than Windows, eg. in 95% no need to install drivers, all programs in Software Center,no need to search exe’s all over internet, and thats why no viruses ;)

    Reply
    1. anthonyvenable110 Post author

      Yes I have loved Linux Mint since I ran across it last year and once I found out about Unity on Ubuntu I figured it was only a matter of time before they would change things as well but the difference is that it appears to be a better planned out situation than that of ubuntu. I love Ubuntu but it was as if they forgot about the power users or at least those that worked hard to learn Gnome 2.

      Reply
  2. artstadlin

    Agree with you about Mint’s color scheme. Easy on the eyes. More importantly Mint 12 is pretty easy to use and has most popular stuff built in. If all I did were email, web surfing, PDF file reading, photo viewing, and other basic tasks, there would be no reason to download any additional applications. Soon I will cover in my blog some apps I have downloaded to help Mint meet my more demanding needs.

    Reply
    1. anthonyvenable110 Post author

      Well I am glad you liked my post. And yes Linux Mint 12 is awesome! I just can’t say it enough. Even if you decide to dual boot it with another OS or run from a virtual machine program such as virtualbox which is available for free you will be able to see the benefits of using it.

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Hmm, another treasure « anthonyvenable110

  4. Pingback: This is going to be interesting! Part 2 « anthonyvenable110

  5. Pingback: The CHOICES one has with Linux Mint 12 « anthonyvenable110

  6. Pingback: What is the difference between Android and Linux? | anthonyvenable110

Feel free to comment on any of my blog posts

