Daily Archives: December 10, 2011

It may be small but watch out! It packs a punch

Abiword is a very simple word processing program, its name even reflects sharing since the name “AbiWord” (pronounced “Abby Word”) is derived from the root of the Spanish word “abierto“, meaning “open”. I have found it to be very easy to use. And something I am quite fond of. And just why is that the case? Because it  loads up really quickly which makes it more efficient to use when you are in a hurry. I find it useful for writing notes and simple do do lists etc. I found out about this program a few years ago totally by accident, and I have been very happy with it ever since.

AbiWord screenshot

Something else that I like about it is that is is free, now truthfully there are other programs that are also free, but they are also more complex and so therefore they take a lot longer to set up than I like.  The current version of Abiword is 2.8.6 which isn’t all that important but it is updated pretty often which shows me that there is an active community of those that enjoy program as well. It is cross-platform which means it can be used whether you use Windows Mac or Linux so once again there is freedom with that. There is even a portable version for use on USB devices.

Now don’t let its small size fool you for Abiword can pack quite a punch and a simple search on google will blow your mind as to what is available. So by all means check it out. You will be happy you did!!

sources:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AbiWord

http://www.abisource.com/download/